facebook-icon.png Twitter-icon.png.png imgres.png


ISTAT Foundation Scholarship Program

The ISTAT Foundation is actively engaged in helping young people develop careers in aviation by offering scholarships to college-level students who are academically qualified and in need of financial support. The program is administered by the Scholarship Committee of the ISTAT Foundation Board of Trustees in conjunction with accredited universities who recommend qualified students. Click here to access the ISTAT Scholarship Program Overview.

ISTAT_AreasOfStudy.jpgApplications: The committee will begin accepting applications on 1 March 2018.


Students interested in applying for a scholarship must secure a nomination from a faculty member at a qualified university (see below). Click here to access the ISTAT Scholarship Program FAQ for more information.

All past scholarship recipients are welcome to join ISTAT on our ISTAT Foundation Scholarship Alumni Network on LinkedIn.

Universities InfographicPieces7 (1).png

Qualified institutions are invited to submit one (1) candidate (unless requested otherwise) for consideration on an annual basis. For qualified institutions that have more than one aviation-related course/program, the university can submit one candidate per course/program.

If you are a university representative and would like more information about how your institution can provide aviation scholarships to students, please contact the ISTAT Ambassador assigned to your university. Click here to access the list of ISTAT Ambassadors. If your university is not listed, please contact: ISTATscholarships@istat.org.


Candidates shall meet the following criteria:

Aviation Scholarship Students

  • Completion of at least two years of undergraduate (bachelors) studies or be enrolled in graduate (masters) or post graduate (doctoral) studies;
  • Students must hold an academic ranking within the top 25% (75 - 100%) (United States Grade Point Average requirement: 3.0 or above on a 4.0 scale);
  • Need of financial support for university tuition-only fees. The student’s financial need must be noted in the financial aid section and personal statement;
  • Enrolled in one of the following programs: aviation finance, aviation law, aeronautical engineering, aviation management, aeronautical science, aviation computer science, aviation maintenance, airport management, air traffic control, or related field. At this time, we are not accepting applications from flight/pilot candidates;
  • Commitment to a career in aviation;
  • Involvement in extra-curricular/community activities indicating leadership qualities.


Named Scholarships 

In addition to ISTAT Scholarships, the ISTAT Foundation grants special scholarship awards to specific universities as requested by the individual donors; so-called Named Scholarships. Certain Named Scholarship funds include donations that were matched by ISTAT.

Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to two students annually;
one (1) from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University 
and one (1) from Purdue University.

Jon Batchelor Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to two students at
universities in Florida, USA annually.

Michael Metcalf Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to one
Broward College student annually.

Hafthor Hafsteinsson Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to one student at
a universityoutside of the USA studying aviation
aviation economics, aviation law
or equipment finance.

Gilbert W. Speed Memorial Scholarship Award  

This scholarship is awarded to one
student annually.

Joseph Nadol Memorial Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to one 
student with a concentration in aviation
research and/or finance annually.

GECAS Africa Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to African students
at an African university annually.

Norman C.T. Liu Greater China
Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to 17 students at
three universities in Greater China annually.

ISTAT Foundation/Omni Air International
Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to one
Oklahoma State University annually.


ISTAT Foundation/Diane K. Ballweg
Scholarship Award

This scholarship is awarded to four Lewis University students annually.


Congratulations to the 2017 ISTAT Foundation Scholarship Recipients!

This year, the Foundation awarded 42 scholarships totaling $351,051 USD. 

Ms. Denist Oscar
Broward College
Mr. Ahmed Bayram
Cairo University
Mr. Ioannis Papageorgiou
Cambridge University
Mr. Samuel Campos
Cranfield Univeristy
Mr. Arjun Pillai
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Asia
Mr. Ivan Kanov
ENAC Ecole Nationale de I'Avion Civile
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach
Mr. Michael Welch
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach
Ms. Tamiraa Bayarsaikhan
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Daytona Beach
Mr. Jordan Brown
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Prescott
Ms. Meghan Hospodka
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Prescott
Ms. Shefali Desai
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University - Prescott
Mr. Ivan Jelic
Florida Memorial University
Ms. Vashti Charlton
Florida Memorial University
Miss Ching Yin Alanis Leung
Hong Kong PolyTechnic University
Mr. Dorian STERLIN
Mr. Leandro Etchevers Collazo
Mr. Andika Immanuel  Simatupang
Leiden University Law School
Mr. Brian Boettner
Lewis University
Mr. Calvin Warren
Lewis University
Mr. Eric Nyantakyi
Lewis University
Ms. Carolina Garcia
Lewis University
Mr. Yusuf Karim
Loughborough University
Mr. Tianyi Dai
National University of Singapore
Miss Alexandria Henson
Oklahoma State University
Miss Mickaylah Walker
Oklahoma State University
Mr. Connor Thetford
Oklahoma State University
Mr. Adam Kee
Purdue University
Mr. Ekin Bakkal
Purdue University
Mr. Edward Mash
Rocky Mountain College
Mr. Samuel Morgan
Saint Louis University
Mr. Bassam Tariq
Seneca College of Applied Arts & Tchnology
Miss Niveta Krishnan Iyer
Stanford University
Mr. Fanomezantsoa Michael Rasoanaivo
SUPAERO MAROC - Ecole d'Ingénieurs Aéronautique
Miss Myriam Ben Aoun
University of Aviation and Technology (ESAT)
University of Aviation and Technology (ESAT)
Mr. Hady Benyamen
University of Kansas
Miss Slavina Prodanova
University of Leeds
Mr. John Butler
University of Limerick
Mr. Divek Surujhlal
University of Witwatersrand
Mr. Michael James Wrathall
University of Witwatersrand
Mr. Brian DePuy
Western Michigan University


Scholarship Program Committee

The 2018 Scholarship Committee is comprised of Andy LaStella (Chairman), Julian Balaam, Kristen Chmielewski, Peter Huijbers, Mohamed El-Boraï, Amy Li, Satoru Ohki, Betsy Snyder, Jean Stein, Mark Streeter, and Konrad Walters.

Scholarship Program History

The 2016 Scholarship Program
The 2015 Scholarship Program

The 2014 Scholarship Program
The 2013 Scholarship Program
The 2012 Scholarship Program
The 2011 Scholarship Program
The 2010 Scholarship Program
The 2009 Scholarship Program
The 2008 Scholarship Program
The 2007 Scholarship Program
The 2006 Scholarship Program